RAS announces 15th Annual President’s Medal finalists

Tuesday, 15th February 2022.

After an incredible year of competitions showcasing the best of the best in Australia’s wine, dairy and fine food produce, the Royal Agricultural Society of NSW has today announced the six outstanding finalists of the 15th Annual President’s Medal.
Going beyond product taste, the President’s Medal, which began in 2006, explores the overall production cycle of each business, including the commercial success, environmental footprint, and social impact, making it the first and only award in Australia to judge producers against a triple bottom line.
Drawing from Sydney Royal Champions across all 2021 Sydney Royal Wine, Dairy and Fine Food Competitions, the President’s Medal finalists have been selected from more than 4,000 entrants, making it the most prestigious competition in the Sydney Royal calendar.
Sydney Royal President’s Medal Chair, Lachlan Bowtell, says the award represents the pinnacle of agricultural excellence, celebrating producers’ innovation and contributions to their communities and the wider industry.
“The President’s Medal is a true testament to great Australian quality. It examines producers from a whole company perspective and acknowledges achievements in areas such as sustainability, innovation, and social enterprise,” Mr Bowtell said.
“This year’s finalists have gone beyond creating an outstanding quality product; they are at the forefront of agricultural innovation and are instrumental in driving the Australian produce industry to new heights.”
The 15th Annual President’s Medal finalists are:

o Shottesbrooke Vineyards in Adelaide, SA, for its 2020 Shottesbroke Single Vineyard Series ‘Adelaide Hills’ Chardonnay
o Pecora Dairy in Robertson, NSW, for its Yarrawa Cheese
o Tathra Oysters in Tathra, NSW, for its Nelson Lake Bistro Cylinder Oyster
o Stockyard Beef in Brisbane, QLD, for its Stockyard Black Label
o Sunshine Meats, in Milperra, NSW, for its Smoked Duck Breast
o Rio Vista Olives, in Mypolonga, SA, for its Chilli Pressed Olive Oil

To determine this year’s winner, President Medal Judges, Ed Halmagyi and Michel Bullen, will take to the road to visit each finalist at their business location.
The winner of the 15th Annual President’s Medal will be announced at the President’s Medal Dinner, held on Wednesday, April 13 2022 during the Sydney Royal Easter Show. The winner will take home a $10,000 cash prize in addition to the prestigious President’s Medal.
President Medal alumni include Meredith Dairy, Gumnut Patisserie, House of Arras, Two Rivers Wines and Brasserie Bread.

Older Post Newer Post